Westin Buy direct or resale

Forum Forums Buying, Selling & Renting Timeshares Westin Buy direct or resale

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 27 total)
  • Author
    Tinman1412

Hi everyone – i’m a newbie so please forgive me for asking something that is probably quite common

I sat through a timeshare for the Westin Ocean villas in Maui. Basically the offer is $50K for 7 nights annually for a 2 BR

There are other sign on bonuses like Gold status and additional 2 weeks that can be used in next 2 years

Is this a good offer? I’ve been looking at a resale on RedWeek and I can get the same deal for $15K?. It’s a mandatory property so I get most of the Benefits except for points conversion to Bonvoy

Seems like a no brainer to me and buy the resale?. Just making sure i’m Not missing anything

Is the resale too good to be true?. The discount in this case is easily $20K

Thanks in advance

SandyPGravel

Resale is definitely the way to go. Congrats at not taking the bait from the developer presentation. Most sign on the dotted line, then find TUG. Also, besides Redweek, Syed is someone who helps with Maui resales. Someone else on here will be able to provide you with his contact information. I’ve seen his name mentioned a lot in regards to Maui resales.

P.S. you might want to ask a moderator to move this thread to the Vistana forum.

CalGalTraveler

Welcome to TUG. Congrats on finding TUG and saving yourself tens of thousands of dollars.

Resale. It is not too good to be true. It is the way to go because such units devalue instantly when you “drive it off the lot.” Spend some time researching and reading the stickies on the Vistana/Starwood forum so you know what you are buying.

In addition to Redweek and TUG which may have unexpected pitfalls for a first time buyer, Syed Sarmad at advantagevacations.com is a recommended TUG real estate broker who can help you with the process of finding an ideal unit.